Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM)

The UAM constitutes an outstanding public high education institution with 63 departments and eight research institutes. UAM was awarded as the first Spanish institution and the third European university according to the QS Ranking of the World’s Top 50 Universities under 50 years old. The UAM maintains and office in Brussels aimed at increasing internationalization activities at the European level. The Department of Psychiatry is located at the medical School and it has 4 affiliated Hospitals in Madrid. The core clinical facilities for Psychiatry include the following hospitals: Hospital Universitario de la Princesa, Hospital Universitario La Paz, Hospital Universitario Majadahonda/Puerta de Hierro and the Fundacion Jimenez Diaz. UAM Department of psychiatry is part of the National network for mental health research (CIBERSAM). In 2012 the Department was designated as a World Health Organization Collaborative Center for Mental Health Services Research and Training and its designation has been renewed since. Hospital Universitario La Paz is a 1200-bed quaternary care hospital. By the end of May 2020, roughly 5000 people had been diagnosed with COVID-19 in Hospital Universitario La Paz’s Emergency Department, around 2,500 of whom had been admitted as inpatients, including more than 300 intensive care patients. At the peak of the pandemic, the number of ICU beds went from 33 to 148.


Dr Kerry Rodriguez-McGreevy

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Roberto Mediavilla Torres

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Maria-Fe Bravo Ortiz

Attending Psychiatrist and Adjunct Professor

Dr Gonzalo Martinez Ales

Psychiatrist and epidemiologist

Dr Marta Miret

Associate Professor of Psychiatry (tenure track)

Dr Elvira Lara Pérez

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Beatriz Rodriguez Vega

Attending Psychiatrist and Adjunct Professor

Dr Maria Cabello

Assistant Professor

Dr Carmen Bayon

Attending Psychiatrist and Adjunct Professor

Eduardo Delgado

Attending Psychiatrist and Geriatrician

Dr Itziar Leal

Attending Psychiatrist and Adjunct Professor

Dr Pilar Lopez

Associate Professor of Psychiatry

Skip to content